The sports school
FICCI logo
The 10 Greatest Indian Women’s Cricketer Of All Time

The 10 Greatest Indian Women’s Cricketer Of All Time

The Women in Blue have seen some legendary cricketers come and go throughout the years, but who left the biggest mark?

In India, cricket is over faith and festival. Unfortunately, everyone praises the achievement achieved by the men cricketer. But our women cricketers also are talented and are always ready to move every stone for our country’s pride. Let us take a look at the ten greatest Indian women cricketers and how they paved the way for the country’s success during their time.


10) Neetu David

The 10 Greatest Indian Women’s Cricketer Of All Time - Neetu David

Neetu David is currently chairperson of the BCCI women’s selection committee and a former Indian Women Cricketer who play for the national women’s cricket team. She is a skillful left-arm spinner. Diana Edulji was her inspiration. She had started playing cricket after watching her.

Neetu holds the record for the best bowling figures in women’s Tests. In November 1995, she returned figures of 8/53 against England in Jamshedpur. Neetu was the highest wicket-taker in the 2005 Women’s World Cup tournament. Her 20 wickets were the greatest number of wickets taken by a player in the tournament. She was also the first bowler for India to take 100 wickets in Women’s ODIs.


9) Anjum Chopra

The 10 Greatest Indian Women’s Cricketer Of All Time - Anjum Chopra

At an early age, Anjum Chopra stepped onto the cricket ground to play cricket. She leads the Women’s Cricket team. When she was at the wicket, it was difficult to keep memories of David Gower out of her mind. She is a phenomenal cricketer and achieved several milestones in her cricket career. She retired from all formats in 2012.


8) Jemimah Rodrigues

The 10 Greatest Indian Women’s Cricketer Of All Time - Jemimah

Jemimah Rodrigues is an Indian cricketer. She is a very young, talented, hard-working cricketer. In June 2018, she was awarded the Jagmohan Dalmiya Award presented by cricketer MS Dhoni for Best Domestic Junior Women’s Cricketer by the BCCI at Jharkhand.

One interesting fact from her life is that apart from cricket she is also a good hockey player and represented Maharashtra in both sports. His father is a real hero to her. Now, she is living her father’s dream. The young charismatic batter became only the second Indian woman to score a double-century in ODI cricket when she scored an unbeaten 202 for Mumbai against Saurashtra in 2017 and was also awarded the Best Woman Cricketer award (Jr Domestic) at the BCCI awards for 2017-18 seasons.


7) Deepti Sharma

The 10 Greatest Indian Women’s Cricketer Of All Time - Deepti

Deepti Bhagwan Sharma is the pride of Uttar Pradesh and an international cricketer who plays for the Indian women’s national cricket team. She is an all-rounder who bats left-handed and bowls right-arm off break. She has scored 188 runs which is the third-highest run in WODIs. She started her career as an international cricketer in 2014.


6) Shefali Verma

The 10 Greatest Indian Women’s Cricketer Of All Time - Shefali

Shafali Verma is an attacking opening batsman like Virender Sehwag and continues his legacy in cricket. She has an outstanding strike rate while batting. She became the youngest cricketer to play in a Women’s Twenty20 International match for India at the age of only 15. Due to the lack of a girls’ cricket academy in her native place, she had to disguise herself as a boy to go to the boys’ academy for training. Sachin Tendulkar is the source of inspiration for her success.


5) Shikha Pandey

The 10 Greatest Indian Women’s Cricketer Of All Time - Shikha

Shikha Subas Pandey is an Indian cricketer and also an officer in the Indian Air Force (IAF). She is a multidimensional star. For her, education was the priority and she had never let her focus on games affect her academic performance. She is truly inspirational for all who are encountering problems with her education and dream. She has proved that you can achieve want you to want without any kind of loss or distractions.


4) Smriti Mandhana

The 10 Greatest Indian Women’s Cricketer Of All Time - Smriti


Smriti Shriniwas Mandhana is a most stylish, who can play shot any part of the ground, Indian cricketer who plays for the Indian women’s national team. She is an attacking opening batsman and can destroy any bowling lineup. She has played so many fabulous and winning knock for the nation. The BCCI named her the Best Women’s International Cricketer in 2018.


3) Harmanpreet Kaur


The 10 Greatest Indian Women’s Cricketer Of All Time - Harmanpreet Kaur

Harmanpreet Kaur is an Indian cricketer. In the absence of Mithali Raj, she serves as the captain of the Indian team. She is an incredible all-rounder on the side. She was awarded the Arjuna Award for her outstanding performance in Cricket in the year 2017 by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. She has smashed an exceptional century in Women’s T20I 2018 making her the first Indian woman who had done this.  She was inspired by Virender Sehwag.


2) Jhulan Goswami

The 10 Greatest Indian Women’s Cricketer Of All Time - Jhulan Goswami

Jhulan Nishit Goswami is a brilliant Indian international cricketer. She is regarded as one of the greatest and fastest women fast bowlers of all time.

She won the M.A. Chidambaram Trophy for Best Women’s Cricketer in 2011. Currently, she is the highest wicket-taker in Women’s ODIs. Thanks to the 1992 Cricket world cup that inspired her to play cricket and our nation got a true gem.


1) Mithali Raj

The 10 Greatest Indian Women’s Cricketer Of All Time - Mitali Raj

Mithali Dorai Raj is the Sachin Tendulkar of Women’s Cricket. Her captaincy skills are like MS Dhoni. During her childhood, she wanted to be a Bharatanatyam dancer.

As within the Hindi proverb, it is rightly said that जो हुआ अच्छे के लिए हुआ Bharatnatayam’s loss is cricket’s gain. She holds numerous traffic records in international cricket. She has scored the foremost runs in WODIs. She became the captain of the Indian WODIs side in 2005. Because of her outstanding fitness, and powerful determination, she has completed more than two decades of playing cricket for the nation. She has also received several prestigious awards, including Arjuna Award in 2003, the Padma Shri in 2015, and many more.

Go Back