All You Need To Know About ISL (Indian Super League)

ISL 2020

All You Need To Know About ISL (Indian Super League)

ISL Logo

About ISL:-

The Indian Super League (ISL) is the highest level of a Professional Football League in India founded in October 2013. The league involves 11 teams with each season usually running from November to March. During the league stage of the competition, each club/team plays 20 games against the others in an all-play-all tournament (or round-robin style). The top four teams at the end of the league stage qualify for the play-offs. The season then winds up with the ISL Final to discover the Champion. The league has been officially known as the Hero Indian Super League since its initiation as Hero MotoCorp signed a sponsorship agreement with ISL. Its organizing committee are AIFF (All India Football Federation), FSDL (Football Sports Development Limited) and Star Sports. Initially, the league started with 8 teams, then expanded to 10 teams in 2017-18 and currently it has 11 teams competing against each other. 


Competition Format:-

The league stage follows a double round-robin format (all-play-all), with each club playing against others twice, once at their home stadium and once at their opponents’ stadium, for a total of 18 matches each. Teams earn 3 points for a win, 1 point for a draw, and 0 points for a loss. Teams are ranked by total points, with the highest-ranked club at the end of the league stage being awarded the ISL League Winners Shield and the top 4 ranked teams advancing to the finals.








    ATK Mohun Bangan ISL

ATK Mohun BaganKolkata, West BengalSalt Lake StadiumAptonia LopezSourabh Ganguly, Sanjiv Goenka
Bengaluru FCBengaluru FCBangalore, KarnatakaSree Kanteerava StadiumCarles CuadratJSW Group
Chennaiyin FC Chennaiyin FCChennai, Tamil NaduJawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Chennai)Csaba LaszloAbhishek Bachchan, MS Dhoni
SC East BengalSC East BengalKolkata, West BengalSalt Lake StadiumRobbie FowlerShree Cement
FC GoaFC GoaMargao, GoaFatorda StadiumJuan FerrandoVirat Kohli, Rakesh Jhunjhunwala
Hyderabad FCHyderabad FCHyderabad, TelanganaG.M.C Balayogi StadiumManuel MarquezRana Daggubati
Jamshedpur FCJamshedpur, JharkhandJRD Tata Sports ComplexOwen CoyleTata Steel
Kerala Blasters FCKerala Blasters FCKochi, KeralaJawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Kochi)Kibu VicunaBlasters Sports Ventures Pvt. Ltd.
Mumbai City FCMumbai City FCMumbai, MaharashtraMumbai Football ArenaSergio LoberaRanbir Kapoor
NorthEast United FCNortheast United FCGuwahati, AssamIndira Gandhi Athletic StadiumGerard NusJohn Abraham
Odisha FC Odisha FCBhubaneswar, OdishaKalinga StadiumStuart BaxterGMS Inc.

ISL Record holders:-


  • Most titles as a Coach:- Antonio Lopez Habas
  • Most points in a season:- 40, Bengaluru FC
  • Most wins till date:- 51, FC Goa
  • Most draws in total:- 35, Kerala Blasters
  • Most goals in total:- FC Goa
  • Most goal by an Indian in Indian Super League goals:- Sunil Chettri, Bengaluru FC
  • Biggest win:- 7-0, FC Goa vs. Mumbai City FC


League Champions:-


  • 2014 :- ATK Mohun Bagan
  • 2015 :- Chennaiyin FC
  • 2016 :- ATK Mohun Bagan
  • 2017-18 :- Chennaiyin FC
  • 2018-19 :- Bengaluru FC
  • 2019-20 :- ATK Mohun Bagan
  • 2020-21:- ?

ATK Mohun Bagan holds the most ISL trophies with 3, defeating Chennaiyin FC in the 2019–20 final.

ISL Trophy

Click below to know about Football program @ The Sports School by Bengaluru FC

Know More